top of page
  • Writer's picturebellatherapy

Boy is it me or is it hot outside? ( 5 Tip's on how to deal with the heat)



So, I am sitting here and it's 35 degree's outside. The temperature gage has actually gone down as earlier it was 38 .

I have to say I like the hot weather, however where I am from the 38 degree heat is something I am definitely not used too, but with climate change here this maybe the new normal.


So, I thought I would try and compile a list of useful tips that I have heard of or practiced myself over the years ( now I sound super old) to try and keep you and myself cool.



  1. Probably goes without saying, but drink plenty of water. Let's make it a lot more water than you usually would have. I mean your body is made up of water which we lose in sweat. For men 60% is roughly water and for women it's around 55% . You can have it chilled, with some fruit to make it more exciting or have it sparkling or have any chilled drink * ( although cavate here try to* stay away from the alcohol I am afraid, as that actually dehydrates you).


2.) Release your inner vampire! ( I don't mean go around and suck blood popsicles just normal popsicles will do!) I just mean stay out of the sun as much as possible. For those who like to tan I am sorry this is going to be bad news. If you do however, want to go out then try to avoid between 11am and 2pm. If you can wait till evening and catch the last rays of sun and even a gorgeous sunset then do. Sunsets are amazing for the mental health side as well as nature. So a beautiful evening stroll in the cooler evening temps will be worth waiting for.







3.) Wear white and try to wear linen clothes or clothes that are breathable fabric's. Avoid black if you can as that absorbs heat which will potentially make you feel hotter. (Although having said that I wore a black dress today so who am I to talk. Although, I must say regretted that choice very quickly).




4.) What to do with the windows? Age old question. Do you open them or keep them closed? Well, it's actually both is the correct answer. When it's between the 11am and 2pm stage keep them closed even if there is a breeze. The temperature inside might be cooler, but if you open the windows and it's super hot outside it allows the cool air out and is then replaced by the warm air even if there's a breeze. What you want is for the temperature outside to either, match the temperature inside the house , apartment, work or be under it. So the later it gets and as the thermometer drops then open those windows wide.



5.) The dreaded sleep in hot weather. Sleep can be tricky at the best of times, but when it's too hot or cold it's a nightmare. So, invest in summer duvets or even don't use a duvet. Don't be afraid to let it all hang out and sleep with no clothes on. Those of you who can sleep with fans on, perfect for those of you who can't then get a cold compress or frozen peas/ ice cubes. It will at least lower your body temperature a little bit (hopefully so you can sleep) don't put the ice directly onto your skin though always wrap the ice / frozen peas whatever in a towel.

Also, you can splash cool water on your face or body before sleep or have a cool shower. Don't have it too cold though as it could shock your body and well that won't be good.







These are just some tip's to hopefully help you through!


Don't forget the sun cream and happy summer!


Corinne

XXX

14 views0 comments
bottom of page